OctPoWiMo Poem 5 – Changes

The sages on the Crosstown bus 
crowd in clusters at the back, hanging on,
or sit
two by two

Ain’t nothing changes says one,
Turning the page of her library book
Ain’t nothing but changes says another
And shakes out his daily paper

I watch the liquor store slide by
Through the wet window
The cars circling the crowded lot
A man with a Coors 12 pack under one arm
A woman with three children and one in a stroller 
Following behind

Walking home from my stop
I remember they said there’s snow up north already
Be here soon, I think
Trying to recall the condition of my boots
Since I left them in the hall closet last spring

Nothing but nothing change.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “OctPoWiMo Poem 5 – Changes

  1. nina says:

    Love the details. I feel like I’m on the bus there with you.

  2. odhran25 says:

    Thank you! And thanks for reading!

  3. Diane says:

    Many of these are rich. Some really good stuff here.

    do you get a prompt each day or do you have to come up with a topic?

  4. odhran25 says:

    We get a prompt, but I often don’t use it directly. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

