Home

I remember bits of the movie we watched
when we were all home together
that last college summer:
the boy, the bicycle, the wide-headed creature
with long fingers.

Back at school,
each time I’d catch sight
of my recklessness in a mirror,
I’d mouth “phone home” to the reflection.

We did call home,
for years after that,
from dorms, bus stations,
scattered apartments,
gas stations off interstates:
I am coming Tuesday,
we are almost there,
I have two whole weeks,
can you come get me at six?

But gradually,
our visits became less frequent,
shorter, hurried.

I remember one later year,
the melancholy days after Christmas,
standing in the rain,
in front of the colored lights
in a hometown window,
no one left in town but me,
thinking of a distant desk by a window,
realizing that I had made my own home,
and there would be my returning.

Copyright Kay Winter

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Home

  1. Elan Mudrow says:

    Nice! I like your poetry. More please.
    check out:
    passiontorn.wordpress.com

  2. LeProsey says:

    Love this. Not seen you in my reader for a while so catching up with your work. Marvellous, as always.

Leave a Reply

