I Am

I am nothing but today

A brief Winter
in an early Spring.

I am
snow through sunlight
renegade wind through
my morning hair
gloved and waiting
for the train
for the buds of the crabapple trees
to flower.

I am
the day’s work
and day’s work ended.

I am
the pale, uncertain sun
in the pool
as I swim
as the men at the edge
argue about baseball.

I am
the day’s windblown end,
walking home
in slow twilight wonderment.

I am
the light left on
the warm kitchen
the cumin in the soup.

I am
the darkness
outside the dining room window.

I am
rest.

I am nothing but this night.

A brief Winter
in an early Spring.

Copyright Kay Winter

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I Am

  1. directorb says:

    Great poem!

Leave a Reply

