Moment: Moment After

Not the moment:

the moment after.

An undecided moment:
undecided as the light of the
late winter afternoon.
An unawere moment:
unaware of what I knew
like what the chaplain had said,
where I parked the car,
how I’ll Be Home for Christmas
had been playing softly in my head
for days,
the chipped patch of yellow paint
on the radiator
(all I remember seeing).
Not the moment:
the moment after.

An impossible moment:
impossible as how
I could hold
both all the past
and all of the coming absence.
Copyright Kay Winter

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

