Redemption

I kissed a stranger once,
exactly as I should have.

We were alone
in a cheap Vietnamese restaurant
on a harder-than-usual Tuesday.

November was outside,
waiting for us.

I didn’t notice him
at first
when I sat down by the window.

He was at the next table,
his tea neglected in his cup.

I stared out the dirty window
over his hunched shoulders,
his dark hair hanging over his forehead.

Something terrible was taking
a hold of both of us.

I turned away from the window,
reached out, turned his face
toward me,
and kissed him.

His face was blank,
then his eyes his widened.

I let go.
He looked me
as I dropped my hands.

“Thank you,” he said.

The terrible thing
let go of us.

– Copyright Kay Winter

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Redemption

  1. clothespeggedpat says:

    Fascinating – I am enthralled with how you set out – how this piece flows into itself – of the “absurd spontaneity” of a choice and moment, and how it ends in redemption ….

    Amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

