Benezet at Avignon

I was a boy
who carried a stone
impossible for me
past their disbelieving eyes.

I followed the voices of angels
who had found me
sunblind in the eclipse.

I set the stone
on the bank of the Rhone
at Avignon.

The first stone of the bridge
I built for angels.

The angels,
in all their brilliant
soundings and shinings,
watched my sheep
in the soft light
on the green embankment.

The ill came
after the light
after the angels
after the stones,
and went away whole.

I slept within the arches
singing the silent songs of saints,
for hundreds of years.

Then all my many brothers came
to finish the bridge at Avignon.

And where there were boys
with other stones,
stones too large for them,
sunblind boys like me,
they built bridges.

– Copyright Kay Winter

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Benezet at Avignon

  1. Nice. Avignon has such an interesting vibe. I danced on the bridge (of course) and was interested to hear the stories of its history. I was there researching a novel set in Avignon and Vaucluse. You’ve captured some of the mystery of the place in your poem. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. Jennifer says:

    You’ve captured both the innocence and the miraculous in Benezet’s tale. Beautifully done.

  3. Another wow! I love your style of writing. And of course I hear your voice reading it in my head which is a bonus.

Leave a Reply

