Directions

I want to leave by a back door
left absently open
and cut across the neighbors’ lawns
to an unfamiliar alley
to the small green door
left unlocked.

I want to leave
and walk before dawn
and waken from my walking
on a strange path
in a fog dense enough
to pull a cape from.
Dense enough
to muffle the sea below
and the cries of an unknown herd
on the hillside.

I want no bearings,
no water soundings,
no compasses or coordinates.

I want the map lost,
the watch, the clock, the calendar
left long ago
in a distant house.

I want the night road,
the distant side of the mountain,
the unmarked crossroad.

I want to walk
in the gathered turnings
that ripple through
my fingertips.

I want
to hear the spirals
of the earth.

– Copyright Kay Winter

Tagged , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Directions

  1. cindy knoke says:

    You have already left, by a front door (this poem). Your mind is so wonderfully free. Please keep following it.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Another strong, evocative ending!

  3. Wow! This poem is so intense. I love it. Still trying to make the time to read your other work. Forgot it is National Poetry Writing Month till I saw the 5th post of Poems. I am sure your other poems will move me just as much. Thanks for sharing your talents of writing.

  4. odhran25 says:

    Thank you! Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. spirals of the earth is something beautiful to think about.

Leave a Reply

